Study Habits/Practices

I searched but with no luck. Any good threads on this that I am missing?

I know everyone is different but, generally, what are the best ways to study while going through the various science prereqs? I never really learned any good techniques and have been kinda guessing up to this point. Any and all methods are welcomed suggestions. I dont really gravitate towards any of the specific learning styles (visual, auditory etc). I’m a very average student but I have a (no prereqs included) GPA of 3.9 with 90 credits right now all on a account of severe persistence haha.

One word, repetition!

What took me 3 times to read now takes me 6 times!

For math classes, in particular, working homework problems repeatedly is key. Treat physics and general chemistry as math classes. Form a study group for biology. O-chem requires multiple techniqes: Memorizing reaction mechanisms, memorizing reagents, and practicing synthesis problems are some of the biggies. To some extent you will cement your memory of the reagents as you use them in your synthesis problems, but that alone was not enough for me.

I hope that gives you a starting point!

Here are seveal ideas that I have used personally and/or have helped students develop. Generally the “paradigm” is you are funneling information from multiple sources (lecture, books, internet, homework problems, etc) into concise, integrated knowledge

1. Assume from day of class that you are preparing for the final exam. So whatever study habits, discipline, and process you develop, always funnels information for that ultimate goal

2. Whatever you choose, develop a consistent process that has you studying, doing problems, in same manner as you would as taking a test. Content (ie course information) is only one part of being a good student. Developing the studying habits and the test taking skills are separate skillsets that need to be as fully developed as is comprehending the material.