Studying and LEARNING

Kudos to this forum! Since stumbling on OPM a few days ago I’ve managed to dig up more useful information than the previous YEAR on my own. Y’all ROCK!!

I am a mech engineer/program manger who is SICK of staff meetings and killing my eyes at a computer screen all day. I’ve started mapping out my route to medicine, and have started taking the steps to get me there. So far so good. I start org chem on tuesday, and am pretty darn excited about it!

One concern that I have is my learning/studying habits. As an undergrad (Air Force Academy 01, Mech Engr) I trained myself to cram and dump information like nobodys business…I am great at it. Only now, I don’t want to cram and dump, I want to LEARN the information and keep it for the MCAT and beyond. I’m wondering if anyone knows of any programs, classes, or books that can help me re-program myself to learn and STORE information more efficiently than I currently do???

Thanks!

ReAnn

Welcome to OPM, ReAnn .

I couldn’t tell you any specific programs or strategies that will teach you how to understand information, rather than regurgitating it. Identifying that as something to work on is the first step, I’m sure, so it sounds like you’re on your way, at least. I think any opportunity to think critically will force you to develop these skills - a conceptually challenging course, some semi-independent research, etc.

Two things I’ve found help me with this:

1 - Try to process the information as much as you can, while you’re in class. Rather than just jotting it down, think about it. How does it connect with other things you know? What does it imply?

2 - If you have the opportunity, stay 5 minutes late for every class. For me, at least, I can organize (and therefore understand and retain) information a lot better, just by doing something as simple as staying in my seat and thinking about it.