Surgical question

Greetings,
I was wondering if any of you have heard of taking out someone’s appendix because “It is more elongated that it should be”. I don’t believe any blood tests showed an increase in white count. No fever, no vomiting. Only indications of anything were some adominal pain and back pain over the past year.
Case history: This women is quite obese (300 lbs) and has a history of constant problems with no true findings of anything medically wrong. The problems seem to go away after nothing is found by the docs, then new problems surface after a period of time. Delivered twins 2 years ago. Has a diet high in fat and sugar with little to no veggies and fiber, no exercise and gets others to watch her kids so she can sleep all day.
She was scheduled for a laparoscopy and after it was done, the doc came out and said they took her appendix out for the reason stated above.
Just curious. I know what I think, but I am not a doctor.

Well, I’m not a surgeon, but I know that we were taught on my surgery rotation that if you’re doing an open incision for presumed appendicitis and you discover a perfectly healthy appendix, you take it out anyway… because the incision is going to announce to any future surgeons who see the person’s abdomen that they’ve had their appendix removed!
Now, laparoscopically of course, those little buttonholes in various places could mean ANY sort of surgery, so the rationale doesn’t apply. But ya know, if they had gone to all the trouble to anesthetize me looking for a hot appendix, I’d just as soon they took it out of me, too. But I’d just like the truth rather than the curious statement that it wasn’t quite the right size.
Whose story are you hearing? Is this what the patient heard or what the surgeon really said?

Thanks Mary for your response.