Talk me out of this please...

Hi guys:

I have a business degree with limited physical science background. I’m considering taking some pre-med classes and possibly applying to a DO or PA program.

I have a law degree, and am pushing 40 years old.

My questions:

1. I don’t see a post bacc program as an option, due to cost, family and job. I’m thinking I need a self directed part time program. I understand seated classes are preferred. Is this correct?

2. Will my law school grades be considered in terms of overall GPA? I did poorly (way back then I should have realized law wasn’t for me).

3. PA is probably a smarter route for me due to my age and cost. But, how does one obtain the required patient contact? I’m thinking volunteer EMT, or part time work in an ER as a tech. Is my thinking wrong here?

Thoughts? (Honest feedback appreciated)

Best of luck to you. There are definitely folks older than you on these boards who are pursuing medicine, so don’t discount yourself just on age.

As to your questions,

1. True in general, but check with the schools that you’re interested in to see what they have to say.

2. Not entirely sure, but AMCAS seems to count just about everything.

3. Volunteer EMT is a good option. There were a lot of folks in my EMT class going that route. Only issue is that they probably want you to have your EMT certificate, which is about a semester of work and a written and practical exam. A buddy of mine just went and got a job as a Nursing Assistant at a local hospital. Good thing about that one is that they didn’t require any training or certification.

Ok – so a few things re: your post –

Age - Don’t want to hear it – 40 when I started prereqs, 42 when I entered medical school, graduating from residency at 51. sorry, that argument doesn’t wash with me – get back to work, you ;->

1. I did a “self-directed” post back - went to various community colleges to get my preqreqs, maintained a 4.0 average in those and was OK.