Technical to Medicine - How far am I going to travel?

I’m sure newbie threads like this get rather repetitive around here, but this looks like a great site to get some questions answered.

I’ve been considering medical school for awhile, however I’ve been letting many things in life get in the way. After some serious soul-searching I’ve decided I’m going to go forward regardless of the obstacles, now I just need to define what the obstacles are so I can leap them.

Currently I’m a software engineer with a degree in Computer Science, and don’t let the science part fool you: Most of my degree is made up of math courses and a little bit of physics. I’m pretty much looking at taking all of my biology and chemistry requirements at night. So onto the questions:

1. I graduated with a 3.31 GPA, how good or bad will that be for me? My math grades were very solid, so if I get As in my biology and chemistry courses will that help me out significantly?

2. In terms of volunteering, I’m already a Red Cross volunteer working on the disaster side (i.e. not health related). I’ve been trying to become a volunteer CPR instructor as well (which is a bigger headache than it should be). I’ve read that things like this help out in the process, the question I have is how much?

2a) Down that line, would volunteering at a Children’s hospital to help raise the spirits of the kids be useful? It sounds like a fun thing to do, though I’m concerned I should be looking for more “useful” volunteer positions since this would be more about reading and playing.

3. I expect it will take at least a year for me to finish enough course work to consider applying. Is there anything else I should be doing in the meantime?

4. I’m nearly 30 now, how much will being over the age of 29 effect me when I apply?
  • Medipax Said: