The one fundamental question: Is there any hope?

Hi everyone,

I’m sure you all have read this question and promptly replied, but I wanted to know how you all would reply to me.

I used to be a great student back in high school, graduating with top honors - graduated #2 of a class of 900 something. After getting to college, I took a few sciences, and failed them repeatedly, getting D’s in them more than once. As a result, I got kicked out of my school and am forced to go to community college to finish out or do what I can.

I think I have about another year left where I can finish up with a bachelors in something - I’m not sure yet. Now, what I wanted to know is do I still stand a chance? The wake up call for me was when I got kicked out of my school and started going to community college. Since I’ve been there, I’ve been getting mostly A’s, and 2 B’s. I think about 4 A’s, 2 B’s, and one C+. At this rate I’m going to graduate with a GPA close to 2.3-2.5, I’m not entirely sure. I’m not stupid, I am just a slacker. I just realized it too late. I wish it weren’t so, but it is. For the last year, I’ve been working really hard. Right now, I am mananging a full work schedule (local pharmacy - 30 hours/wk), class schedule (4 classes/semester), and hospital volunteering (8 hrs/wk).

I’ve been practicing the MCAT’s and I’ve been consistently hitting 37-39. And yes, for those doubtful ones - I can really get the 37-40 on my MCAT’s…My highest has been 44.

So is there any saving grace for me? Would I be able to apply to an American school and go there? Or would I have to apply elsewhere? And where is that elsewhere?

A lot of other people on another advice forum were saying that I should try for a Carib school.

Any chance that I can transfer into one of the US schools after a year or so there? Or would I have to finish out my 4 years of Med school there?