the premed advisor letter

I graduated with my BA (Humanities/Intercultural Relations) in 2001. I started undergrad as a premed, and then ended up on a different route. Last year I picked up where I had left off in premed classes, and I’m now finishing up physics and planning to take the MCAT in June 08, applying for 09 admission.

I did not enroll in a post-bacc premed program, instead I’ve been taking classes part-time and working full-time. I’ll have LORs from my recent OChem instructor, an undergrad prof I’ve worked with since college, volunteer experience, and my current job at a long-term health care facility.

Anyone else been in the same boat? Any advice for me? Is the lack of that “premed committee” recommendation something I should be concerned about? Should I be seeking out internships or other experiences? Thanks!

NO… Be THANKFUL there is no committee… All they would do it try to pigeon hole your experiences into the “standard form”

As a non-trad you are trying to sell your “uniqueness”, something a group could never do as well as individual letters… After all what is a camel but a horse by committee? Especially if you have a special relationship with the letter writer!

Richard

Having read lots of individual letters AND committee letters, I would hesitate to characterize either of them quite so broadly. It is true that a committee letter can be quite formulaic… but if the school has taken pains to make the formula one that allows an individual to shine through, the resultant letters can be damn good. In other words, there are good committee letters and not-so-good committee letters.