Things nontrads should NEVER say in an interview

I think this list could be VERY useful because I’m learning (the HARD way) that things I may have said in my 20’s, can have a very different “flavor” when your 35+.

1) I have many years of volunteer experience".

I think this statement draws attention to how old I am. I think a better statement is " I have a substatinated commitment to volunteering and serving in my community.

2) I’ve had successes and failures in my life and preservered.

I’ve preservered through challenges in my life.

3) I feel I can compete with my younger collegues.

I’m as capable as any other applicant.

Anyone care to add anything?

I wear a size 36 white coat.

Pardon me, but do you have a spare pair of depends? I think I have soiled mine.

LOL! Just kidding…

For all applicants, you should take care in how phrase things so as to emphasize your attributes and de-emphasize your shortcomings. However, when you do so, be sure to choose your wording such that you still appear natural and as “yourself”. Too careful a selection process has the danger of coming across as plastic and scripted. That will not help you either.

Honestly, if this thread is going to end up being a joke, why not just move it to the humor section?

I think it’s a pretty serious consideration, and I’m starting to realize that as a nontrad issues that apply to “all applicants”, exclude folks over 40. Just as issues that apply to female applicants (such as being asked when you plan to have children) don’t apply to male applicants. Or maybe because not many people over 40 pursue med school there’s little info on the “rules”?

Remember. In an interview your job is to confirm to the adcoms that you belong there. They already believe this because they called you in. Now it is up to you to seal the deal.

1. Do not say “I don’t have any questions.” If you say this, then you have not properly prepared.