This forum is the best.. Some advice for a newbie

Well, I am so glad to find this place! I thought I was an army of one in my quest. Brief bit about me and some questions for you experts…

UK National, 42, 2 kids and a hubby, here on a green card.

I graduated high school in '83 with an OK exam showing for one reason and another, but was always good at Science generally. Went to work in Technology and Marketing practice and teaching, qualifications since then:

Advanced Dip in IT UK University(92)

Post Grad Dip in Marketing UK University (2001)

Masters in Marketing UK University (2003) (GPA’s not sure how that works ).

Wanting to be a doctor has been a thorn in my side since high school, at that time, you had one shot, if you didn’t make it, it was almost impossible to erase the past high school performance, so I sadly tried to move on.

We are now in a position to do this and my hubby is like, “go for it - why not???”

Here are the questions I have for you all (after reading Richards rules and being able to answer yes to just about all)

1. Would a Post Bacc and good MCAT get me a sniff of a med school? Rutgers NJ offers a Cert Postbac and a non cert PostBac (the latter does not have the GPA requirement). Just saying they won’t let me on the Cert course using my UK quals, is there any point in doing the non cert, i.e. does it carry any weight at all?

2. Would I be better to go do a degree - then MCAT and Med School?

3. What do you think about joint MD/Biology degrees?

Any advice guys as I start this journey.

Thanks

Karen

Hi Karen, and welcome!

I feel like a broken record on this today, but I think you should start by contacting admissions advising staff at a few medical schools. I say this because you have a couple of potential issues.