This is a lot but I'm in need of assistance so

Hi all! Please be kind, because I feel like I am being absolutely ridiculous. I’ll try to keep it as short and to the point as possible!

About 10 years ago, I decided I wanted to be a doctor. Specifically an ob-gyn or a pediatrician. I was a new mom and I thought the whole thing was so fascinating. For a lot of reasons (namely the time involved and how soon I’d be able to support my family if necessary), I decided to become a nurse with the goal of eventually becoming a nurse-midwife. Well fast-forward to 2020, I’m in a nurse-midwifery program, working as a nurse, and then a pandemic hits and I have to take care of covid patients and it does what it did to a lot of us - breaks my spirit and completely decimates my desire for direct patient care.

During all this time, I never stopped wishing I was a doctor instead, but as I’m very practical, I knew that it was financially a better choice due to the speed with which I’d be able to make money. Except now it isn’t. My kids are a bit older - 11 and 13 - and I hate being a nurse. I’ve changed my program from midwifery to public health and I have so much debt from nursing school that I may as well have gone to medical school.

None of my interactions with med students, residents, or attendings over the years have dissuaded me from wanting to be a physician, although the type of physician I want to be has changed a bit. The thought of starting over, though, is … well, daunting is an understatement. I can’t imagine the amount of debt I would be in and then what if I didn’t match? Not to mention, my husband is nice and supportive but we are likely going to be divorced for reasons unrelated to my career path.