Three GPAs - your assessment ?

Hello -

I have really enjoyed reading all of the forum topics. This place is a thoughtful and inspiring group that I look forward to being a more meaningful part of.

I have a BA degree in History and a BS degree in Computer Science. I have been working in the software engineering field for the past 6-7 years.

Once I have the Bio and Organic Chemistry pre-reqs complete (hopefully with A’s and within a year), can I have your assessment of my credentials for applying to medical schools of varying tiers?

I have a 3.82 GPA for the History degree, but only a 3.0 (barely) for the Comp Sci. They average at 3.42. Both degrees are from the same school (ASU), and so all three of these GPAs show on the transcript.

Will I have any control over presenting in the best light the GPAs on my applications to med school? Is it possible to only mention the degree with the higher GPA? Or would I even want to do that, since Comp Sci (the lower GPA degree) is where my math and science courses are? Those courses are now 7-8 years old, so that might be another question.

Or would it be better to show the two degrees but with a lower GPA, compared to just the Comp Sci?

Would B grades be sufficient on the remaining science courses I need to complete over the next 1-2 years? I am working full time as a software developer at American Express (they like 50-55 hours weeks) as well as being married and a father of two young (and wonderful) children.

Being a newbie to this whole process I really don’t have a feel for the feasability of being accepted by any level of med school, be that “low, mid, or high tier” (doubtful there, but still interested).

Any thoughts on what type of MCAT scores I should be shooting for? Maybe it’s too early to be thinking about that?

Well, any insights or evaluations as to my chances and with whatever you see being the ideal GPA combination with the two degrees (if that can even be played with), I would be grateful for.