Timing of Application

Hi All!

I am VERY new to the world of pre-med and am starting a DIY post-bacc this fall at the nearest college to me, about 20 minutes away. Because of my work schedule I can only take 1 class per semester (I might be able to take an elective online course in there, but I would not wish to do more than 2, as I think my GPA would suffer). Anyway… I would, ideally, like to matriculate at 35 (in 2020). My current plan is to take the MCAT in early winter 2019 and apply to schools in spring 2019, however, based on my current outlook I would not have finished one of my courses yet - as I will likely take either 8 hours of Physics or Organic Chem over the 19-20 school year. (As as reference I’ve put my probable course timeline below). I know most traditional pre-med students begin the application process during the spring of their junior year, but at that point most of them have also finished their pre-requisites and are working on upper-level degree-specific coursework. As a non-traditional student is it better to wait to apply until AFTER I’ve actually finished (or at least mostly finished) all of my coursework in Spring 2020 and wait to hopefully matriculate in fall 2021? Would it be better to accelerate my post-bacc by taking a class with an online lab? (Currently I am hoping to do all of my pre-reqs in person, and only electives as possibly online). I am also sort of thinking that it might be good to apply for 2020, but than know that after I’ve actually finished all my course work, if I’m not accepted the first go-round I have the option to re-apply after all my course work in finished.

Anatomy and Physiology 1 - Fall 2016

Anatomy and Physiology 2 - Spring 2017

College Math - Summer 2017 (prob and stats, trig, or calculus)

General Chemistry 1 - Fall 2017

General Chemistry 2 - Spring 2018

Online Elective(s) - Summer 2018 (microbio, biochemistry, genetics or neuroscience)

Organic Chemistry 1 - Fall 2018

Organic Chemistry 2 - Spring 2019