Trying to do my research...

Hi everyone, I just found you guys yesterday and have been scouring the site since! So far I’ve found a lot of great info.

I graduated in 2003 with a degree in psychology but have recently decided that I would like to go to med school. I’ll have quite a bit of pre-reqs to take (no bio or chem in college) and am looking at local universities here in WA.

A few of the schools have an option to take classes as a non-matriculated student. Will credits earned in these classes still be considered “legit”.

Please excuse my ignorance on this topic…I’ve tried to search (here and on google) with no success and finally decided to ask!

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the site! Sorry I cannot help with your question.

I can’t answer definitively but it seems to me that you could take a post-baac science program to get your pre-req’s.

If non-matriculated = non degree seeking but A-F grading at a university, then there should be no issue - it’s what many of us are doing.

Thanks for your help everyone.

• RAdamson Said:
I can't answer definitively but it seems to me that you could take a post-baac science program to get your pre-req's.

You CAN take an "official" post-bacc program but you don't have to. There are lots of threads on this -- and lots of advantages and disadvantages to formal post-baccs. I have to say that over the years, I don't think I've encountered more than a handful of OPM participants who have done a formal post-bacc.

Mary

I would say it depends on what a “non-matriculated” student is. If non-matriculated means you are just auditing the course and not receiving a letter grade than no, it doesn’t suffice. If non-matriculated means non-degree seeking and you can earn a letter grade than it is fine. I enrolled as a “continuing education” student when I took the pre-reqs. I was not considered a degree-seeking student, but I was otherwise taking the courses like any regular undergrad student.