Trying to figure out whether to pursue medicine

Hello,

I have been listening to the Old PreMed’s podcast and the PreMed Years podcast, so I decided to join the group. I am trying to figure out whether or not to dive fully into medicine. I am a non-traditional student with an interesting background (like most of you)-- but my primary concern is the feasibility of getting into medical school given my poor undergrad GPA.

Looking for some advice, and maybe some encouragement, so I thought I would share my story. Here goes:

I went to UCLA for undergrad and graduated with a BS in Biology- undergrad was a tough time for me, my parents were deeply affected by the recession in 2008 and I was very anxious about money and loans. I worked at least 1, sometimes 2 or 3 part time jobs during undergrad and basically just burnt myself out. I started as an engineering major, switched to environmental science, briefly ecology and finally landed on biology. I ended up taking math through linear algebra and calculus based physics and chemistry. The environment was very competitive and I struggled in my classes, I was immature and didn’t know how to ask for help and ultimately ended up feeling like I just wasn’t good enough for the University or smart enough for the classes. This caused a vicious cycle of poor grades and failed classes due to a lack of confidence and anxiety. It was a bad time for me, and I ended up finishing with a 2.69 GPA and no idea what to do next.