Typical number of shadowing hours?

I am curious amongst my fellow OPM’ers what is considered to be “typical” number of hours of shadowing. i was talking to a classmate of mine in Orgo (who is 19…good kid) who said he has about 300 hours logged so far (as if I don’t feel inadequate enough compared to these kids)

I’ve have only technically shadowed once, and certainly hope to some more before applying next summer. I’ve been a respiratory therapist since 1994 though, so my exposure to clinical medicine is pretty extensive (even critical care, Code Blue team, etc.) but I realize it isn’t from the perspective of a physician.

So what would be a good number of hours to shoot for in my case?

Im not sure about a particular number but I myself have logged in about 150 so far since June of this year.

Mixture of mostly EM, Ortho and the rest with IM.

I can’t remember specific schools, but ones that do post what a “highly competitive” candidate is say about 200-400hrs of “clinical experience”. Univ Washington requires a minimum of 40 hours of shadowing (they specify shadowing and not just clinical volunteering) if you want to see a “minimum”. Most schools I’ve looked at don’t really define what they’re looking for. My 53 hours is pretty low, so I’m hoping the AdComs buy my story of how my current job shares a lot of traits with physicians.

I didn’t have that many hours that were technically “shadowing” (i.e. following someone around the hospital or an outpatient clinic). I did, however, have a lot of clinical experience (both paid and unpaid/volunteer) that involved extensive work around physicians, both in the inpatient and outpatient settings.

My take on this is that it’s great to do some shadowing. Try a few specialties if you can get them and have the time (I spent time in the OR and the ICU, mainly, and loved it!).