U Mass boston premed vs Harvard pre med post bacc

Hi everyone- I’m a nontraditional student going back to pick up the science courses after 8 years out of school. I’m currently a musician and teacher but really want to be a doctor.

Has anyone done the U mass Boston post bacc program or the Harvard program? I’m not sure which one is the best to take; prices seem similar, the vibe is totally different… where can a late bloomer like me get the best prep and support to get on to med school?

I will also be working close to full time for the first year or so of classes…

Thanks for any help or advice!

I am leaning towards Harvard personally, I just found out I was “accepted” though there seem to be varying levels of acceptance and they all seem pretty admitting.

I can’t really compare them as I haven’t looked at UMASS. From my research the potential downsides to the Harvard program are large classes, and the diploma/sponsorship are far from guaranteed. You need certain grades and there are also some vague guidelines about acceptable MCATs and ECs. So I guess that’s how Harvard keeps their stats up, i.e. xx% of our students get into Med School. . .but its % of “sponsored” students.

My main concern on Harvard is lack of advising. Other formal programs seem to stay on you to make sure all the aspects of your eventual applications are strong. I think Harvard is more do-it-yourself. But again, this is just my assumption - I haven’t met anyone who actually has completed it.

Of course there is the upside of the Harvard name. Whether or not it carries weight with med schools, it could certainly stand out with people not familiar with the intricacies of post-bacc programs. I like this thought in case I ever get knocked off this path for whatever reason. Though that of course won’t happen (I hope). If I ever ran with my tail between my legs, I can picture the two reactions in an interview:

“what did you do from 2009-2011?”