UCLA Extension Program (aka Postbac)

Hi All,

I posted this under the wrong forum because my computer wouldn’t allow me to scroll down to see that there was a whole other discussion forum!

I’m new here, first post, repeat lurker! I’m a single mother of 3, 36 yo, and am looking to get into medical school (so weird seeing my dreams in print - haha). Anyways, I was looking up UCLA’s Postbac Program, and this is THE only program where they don’t require a GPA minimum - is that weird? I have my doubts about this type of program, but since it is UCLA, my concerns have been diminished. I guess I have two questions: 1) Has anyone tried this program; and 2) This program to me seems like a DIY postbac and not really a formal one since their website did say that you have to basically know what courses you have to take - would anyone do this with this type of set up? I’m so confused.

A little about my undergrad. I graduated from CSUF with cGPA of 3.2 and a CSUF GPA of 3.5. I’m not sure why they do this, but is one GPA looked at more than the other? I’ve called about PA school and many say they only look at the last 2 years of undergrad. From all the posts I’ve seen, it doesn’t look like med school does the same.

Greetings,

Current fourth-year med student here, I lived in LA for 13 years and did UCLA Extension for some postbac classes. I took classes there in 2009-2010, so not sure what has changed since then – therefore, YMMV.

I had a great experience there. The profs were quite good, and you aren’t just thrown into the classes with the undergrads, as the Extension courses are at night. Don’t get me wrong, the classes were challenging, particularly as I was working ~ 70-80 hours a week at the same time - but definitely doable. I only needed to take 5 more courses, so mine was a DIY setup.

However, there was(/is?) a pre-med certificate program that encompasses all of the required courses. It ain’t cheap (I think it was 10–12 Gs a few years ago), but it exists.