Uncertainty...changing of majors during early portion of schooling

When I first started back to school, I had changed my major a number of times always coming back to something in the medical field which to call me. I actually thought it was too late for me to go into medicine until I came upon this website. When I graduated high school (a looonnnngggg time ago), I didn’t receive much support from my family and I guess I was also just a little to immature anyway.

Although my grades have been really good, if you look at my transcript from the community college, you’ll see a GPA of 3.95 with over 120 credits (could have gotten a bachelors degree). Also, while I have no F’s I do have a handful of W’s. A few of them are classes that I have retaken, but some are from classes that I will never re-attempt.

When is the best time to explain these when I apply? Which probably won’t be until Summer of 2009 for 2010 school year.

Krisss17

Pertaining to the W’s, I’ve been told not to bring undue attention to those grades. They’re in your transcripts. Don’t ignore them but don’t parade them either. A simple mention that you had difficulties should be enough. Not sure how accurate that advice is but I start my app in 12 months so I’m interested if this advice I got is correct.

If they come up in an interview. Remember, you always want to focus on the positive and never on the negative. During your PS you want want to have a sentence that you overcame an obstacle (sp) but other than that, if they don’t ask, don’t tell.

Has anyone had this come up during an interview? Do schools receive all the information on transcripts such as “W’s”?

I’ve heard rumors, that “W” = “F” in some schools. Does this apply more to allopathic schools or to both allopathic and osteopathic. Here I have a good GPA to date (the only prereqs I have to take are O.Chem and Physics), and I’m worried about being locked out of medicine because of my earlier uncertainty.

Krisss17