undergraduate degree from overseas and graduate degree from canada

Hi all,

Just wanted to first say thanks for forming such a supportive community. I have been browsing through the topics for a few days and have learned quite a bit… but since my situation is kind of unique, just thought I would post it here. Any advice would be highly appreciated!

I got my BSc in Zoology in 1996 from an Asian country. That means I had general chemistry + lab, general physics + lab, general biology + lab, organic chemistry + lab, calculus, and biochemistry. In addition, I also had cell biology, molecular biology, parasitology, zoology, genetics + lab, molecular genetics, animal physiology, cellular biochemistry, biomatrics (statistics) etc. My grades were average (A’s and B’s and C’s) with a GPA of 3.37.

Then I got my Ph.D. in parasitology from McGill (Canada) in 2003. In addition to the thesis, I only took a handful of courses which included Immunology, Cell biology and Infection, Host-Parasite Dynamics, and some other parasitology-related topics. My GPA was 3.94 (16 semester credits).

Since then I have been doing stem cell research as a postdoc fellow in a US institute. I have been seriously considering applying for medical schools for a few years although people around me told me I am nuts. (Part of the reason I am so glad to find this community). I have retaken several courses that I did poorly 10 years ago (mostly in the second semester when the sport season started in my college back home) at the local community college and university I work at: organic chemistry (3 quarters without lab), calculus (2 quarters), English 101 and 102, and biochemistry (2 quarters). My GPA so far is 3.99 (37 quarter credits).

So here are my questions:

1. I read that courses taken overseas do not count toward pre-reqs… does that mean that I have to redo all the other pre-reqs including labs?