Update

Howdy y’all,

I’ve been absent from OPM for a little bit (OK, several years) but I wanted to drop in and say hi.

I’m three shifts away from completing my residency in Emergency Medicine at Scott & White Hospital/Texas A&M in Temple, Texas. I’ve accepted a staff position with Scott & White’s community hospital in Round Rock, Texas and will be starting there in July.

I’ve also accepted a position in the Scott & White Division of Prehospital Medicine as an associate EMS medical director. I’ll be assisting with medical control, policy issues and the initial training of paramedics at our local college.

I was a paramedic in my ‘former life’ and the whole reason for becoming a physician was to be an EMS medical director. I decided to go back to school at 32. I’m now 40 and about to start paying off my student loans.

Take care,

Jeff

Jeff, congratulations!

Mary

Jeff,

It’s good to hear from you again. And congratulations on both your new jobs coming up. It is always encouraging to hear from those who have finished residency and are moving on!

Congratulations, Jeff! I do remember you posting on OPM when I first started here!

Congrats, Jeff! Good luck with the new job(s) and keep us posted. I’m also interested in EMS/medical direction.

That’s great - congrats, Jeff

Congrats thats awesome!

Jeff congratulations! I guess there IS a light at the end of the tunnel

Jeff,

It seems like yesterday we were sitting at Temple CC taking ochem…you still have the Aggie maroon SUV?

Congrats on the jobs!

I bet your wife is glad you are finally done!

Did I introduce you to OPM or vice versa? It’s been so long ago

Rachel Yealy

Howdy Rachel!

The Aggie maroon SUV was a casualty of my medical aspirations (i.e. it got sold so I could afford groceries). Now I can afford the payment again, I just can’t afford to feed it the gas it would guzzle!