Value of shadowing

I had one of the most amazing days yesterday … I could go on about it forever. Don’t worry, I won’t.

Anyway. I had the opportunity to shadow an anesthesiologist at a nearby hospital, and the experience was absolutely INCREDIBLE. I saw several surgical procedures start to finish, and learned about the accompanying anesthesiology procedures as well. Intubations, a laproscopic nephrectomy, arthroscopic shoulder surgery … all kinds of things. Real procedures, real doctors, real patients. Medicine coming alive for me.

I worked in a hospital several years ago (in the ICU, where things obviously can get pretty hairy), so it’s not like I’ve never seen a doctor treat a patient in an emergent or potentially life-threatening situation. But when you’re right up close, in the passenger seat (so to speak) with the driver narrating every twist and turn, it’s pretty cool.

Consider this post my plug for shadowing. It doesn’t just look good on the med school application. You really learn things. Sure, you learn about the nuts and bolts of medicine. That’s obvious. But you also learn about yourself – what interests you, and what doesn’t. How you relate to people (patients, doctors, etc.). How you handle stress. Real issues that any doctor will face from day 1.

OK, I promised I wouldn’t go on forever. Just thought I’d share some of my enthusiasm.

Thank you for sharing that. You’re fortunate to find an opportunity like that. I would love a chance to do something similar.

That sounds great! I’d love to have an opportunity like that. How did you get involved in that?

Sounds like a great day!

Thanks for the comments, everyone. It was a great day, in so many ways.

@ little_t: I got this opportunity by contacting a half-dozen alums from my alma mater (undergrad) who are MDs. One replied to my messages. And there you have it: shadowing opportunity.