Very Non-Traditional Student - Career Change

Hi Doc and All:

So, I’ll try to make this as short as possible, but it’s a long story.

I’m a VERY non-traditional student (49y/o). I waited almost 10 years to go to college. (mainly money issues within the family, and I didn’t feel comfortable putting my family in a financial burden just to go to school). When I finally went to college, I was in the Pre-Med program at Oklahoma State University. I was doing well (3.8’ish GPA)…while I was in school, my father got really sick, my mother was an alcoholic, we had a family farm, and the stress and time commitment was just too much, and I made the decision to drop out and take care of my father. I don’t regret that, because I did get to spend a lot of time with him, and I would have to say that he lived many more years that he otherwise might not have with me around to help take care of him, so I don’t regret that.

Fast forward to today…I worked my way up in the IT field, so a VP of Technology, got laid off April 2020, due to Covid and lack of revenue at my previous company. There was a university in Michigan offering free tuition for anyone affected by Covid, so I took advantage of it to get a Cybersecuirty degree as a resume augmentation degree (and I’ve never had one, so it would also open up so more doors). However, now that I’m back in school, I’m really getting the bug to go to Med School like I had originally planned.

I’m currently carrying a 4.0. I’m a Senior and slated to graduate Winter 2022/Spring 2023 (depending on how we slate my classes). I don’t have room in my schedule to pick up the things that I missed out on the first time around (Organic Chem, Physics…probably about another year if I go back for pre-req’s)

I’m torn…I want to graduate and finish my degree, I started it, I need to finish it. I THINK this would help my application to show that I can finish what I start, that being said, I’ll be short on the pre-req’s that most medical schools require.