Very Old Pre-Med

Hello Everyone

I feel very blessed to have found old pre-Meds! I’m 49 I’ve been a Paramedic for 15 years and ER RN for 8 years. I was a senior Cosmetologist Since I was 21. I only practice as a RN but keep all licenses up to date. I always wanted to become a physician since I was 8 years old on career day. I was born in Washington DC. I will be starting my pre-requisites this fall at a University. I took chem I&II and Principles of Biology for medicene in 2004. Unfortunately my GPA sucks overall 2.76 from all the “life that took place” I will be starting from scratch Chem I, Physics I, Prin Bio I. I will be working part time. I’m an intermediate Spanish speaker so I take lessons and do home stays in Latin America to nurture that love! I understand it’s an uphill battle. Interesting fact I will have a Study buddy that’s a spouse of 13 years, taking same classes. I’m very committed! I realize science grades need to be on point!

Thanks for letting me share have a glorious weekend ! :slight_smile:

Update: I dropped Chem I , BIO I and kept the old grades went to BIO II and Chem II starts in Jan. Struggling with physics…I’m hanging in there! Purchased a math tutor

Hi Hairescue, I understand your pressure about grads and life that happens. One of best advice that I had was not to take too many classes. You want quality over quantity. And congratulations on finding a study buddy, this really helped me at the end. I was not able to have a good study buddy as I was working full time and taking night and weekend classes. What also helped me was that my study partner committed to taking the same classes and labs together as much as possible. This way we could share resources and have someone consistent to study with. Good luck with your classes and welcome to the forum.