Virtual/Remote Clinical Experience

Hi,

I’m curious to see what others think about clinical experience that occurs virtually. I’ve volunteered with Crisis Textline for some time (even before I decided to go to med school). Basically, it is a non-profit service that handles crisis through text. I’ve helped people avoid suicide and discover resources that could change their entire situation. The experience can be quite personal, even from a distance.

Is this clinical experience? Should we still focus on the in person format for getting clinical experience? (Phlebotomy tech, for example) I plan to, but I have to admit that helping people virtually for a couple hours a week has benefits for a non-trad.

Thanks,

Matt

2 Likes

Hey Matt,

I’m new around here so take this all with a grain of salt but I have a lot of experience with Virtual/Tele health from my time in the Army at the Virtual MEDCEN.

To me your work experience doesn’t quite sound “clinical” in terms of are you close enough to see and smell a patient but you also certainly have experience working with patients. From my understanding what they are looking for with clinical experience is more in line with working in a brick and mortar clinic alongside doctors and nurses with patients. That being said if you worked with providers Crisis Textline you may be able to chalk that up to shadowing time. More likely it would be an awesome community service/volunteerism entry.

Once again I am still new to all this as well so don’t just take my word for it but from what I have seen that is where I think it all fits in.

Hi Matt,