Volunteer Experience

Hello,
Reading this forum has been such an educating and empowering experiene and I just want to thank everyone for sharing their experiences. It is so good to know that I am not alone.
I am a 33 year old mother of two (one who is 2 and my nephew who is 6). I graduated from Oriental medicine school, a 4 year graduate level alternative medical program that focuses on acupuncture, six years ago and have been in private practice since. I love what I do but for many reasons have started down the path of allopathic medical school. Some of the reasons include expaning my knowledge base and scope, working internationally, and specializing in ob/gyn.
I know that volunteer experience is really important for admission. I have plenty of patient contact but not much in the hospital setting. Just this morning I met with the volunteer coordinator at the county hospital and she painted a pretty grim picture of the volunteer experience there including my experience of “stocking”. She quoted the HIPPA guidelines as being very limiting to actual patient contact.
I would like to get feedback form other premeds and what you have done for volunteer experience. If you did volunteer at a hospital what was it like? Do you think that the experience will help you become a better physician? Are there any other creative ways to gain experience? I do have some friends and referring physicians who are ob/gyns. Would it be best to approach them to shadow or start some research?
What about international programs? I would love to hear feedback from premeds who traveled abroad.
Also, I have read some posts about taking online courses. I just wanted to say that I have taken a fair amount of courses through Rio Solado Community College here in Phoenix. Although I do not suggest taking the prereqs they do have other courses like medical spanish, calculus, A&P, microbiology, statistics ect. Their website is www.rio.maricopa.edu.
Thanks in advance,
Dana