Volunteering as Breastfeeding Counselor

Hi y’all.

I am 33 with a husband and 3 kids and a law degree, taking prereqs and planning to apply to med school in the 2010 cycle. I have tons of community volunteer experience (past and current) but nothing clinical at this point. I’m looking to add something clinical.

Would adcoms consider being a volunteer breastfeeding counselor for underprivileged mothers (through WIC) “medical” volunteering? Sure, I could go down to the local hospital and help admit people to ER, but I feel like working as a breastfeeding counselor would be much more relevant. I have 6+ years of breastfeeding experience, and was at one time pursuing becoming a certified lactation consultant. Lactation education and advocacy are hobbies of mine and I believe I could do a great job. WIC runs clinics that provide nutrition, breastfeeding, and general health information to its members. I just don’t know if WIC clinics are “clinical” enough.

I don’t have a great deal of time to commit to another volunteer activity, as I already have several that I am heavily committed to (in addition to taking a full load of classes and running a household), so if I am going to add something else, I need to “make it count”, so to speak.

Thoughts?

TIA!

You should look up BOOBS, her name is Susan and I believe she is a breast feeding consultant. She would be a wealth of information for you.

Though I believe as soon as she notices this thread, she will be here to chime in! Welcome to the site! You will find everyone here is very accomadating.

• maddux31 Said:
You should look up BOOBS, her name is Susan and I believe she is a breast feeding consultant. She would be a wealth of information for you.

Though I believe as soon as she notices this thread, she will be here to chime in! Welcome to the site! You will find everyone here is very accomadating.

You caught me.