Wanna Be An Epidemiologist

Hello All!
I’m totally excited to have stumbled across this website and the forums. I honestly thought that I was wacked out of my head when contemplating a return to school in order to pursue a health degree. I have pretty much been told outright that I’m too old to go back to school (age: 36), and that I should just stay where I am. Problem is, I’ve been miserable for years. I’m a liberal arts grad who wants to be a scientist. Do they have operations for that?
I’m in the process of applying for a Post Bacc program at UCLA in Introductory Sciences to add to my Bachelors and my “most of a masters” with the intention of going on to an MPH in Epidemiology. I cannot really say this in public places, but I LOVE microbiology. The funnest job I’ve done to date has been studying and writing about waterborne viruses. I’m simply amazed that a single cell organism can bring down an organism made up of millions of cells.
Well, just wanted to say hello and thank all of you who have posted these great discussions. I’m totally encouraged by your stories.
Madgenius

Madgenius-
Welcome! You’re never too old to learn and go back to school. Follow your dreams, heart, and desires. Don’t let anyone stop you! I’m with you on the micro thing. I loved the micro exposure I got during undergrad and in fact, if I hadn’t gotten into medschool this year, I would have seriously contemplated heading into a micro PhD program. It’s a fascinating area of science!

madgenius,
Welcome to OPM. You’ll only be too old when you’re dead!! I’m 41, will be 42 this year, and will start in January 2005 in the UK. So, after med school and residency, I’ll be 49!! (unless I change my mind about specialty ) Good luck,
Kathy

Hey There!