Well now, how old is too old?

I should first say that I am a committed pre-medical student and going to medical school has been a life-long dream. If it were up to me, no age would be too old to apply to medical school. I am sitting on the cusp of the 2011 application cycle and was just wondering “when does a pre-med’s advanced years become a detriment to their application?” I will be 43 at my intended entrance into medical school. I understand that older students get in, but are they held to a higher standard? Must they have superior GPA’s and MCAT scores? How is age really looked at behind the closed doors of the admissions committees? Any input is appreciated.

Me:

GPA: 3.5

MCAT (2009) 25R

Health: Everything still works fine.

I think it is not as big of an issue with the DO schools. With your GPA and MCAT score that is where you should apply. You will not get in to any of the US MD schools with those stats. If you had a 3.7+ and a 35+ MCAT I do not think there would be an issue.

I am thinking 50 would be the number but if you look on here there are people getting in older than that.

I will be 47 when I apply next year. I hope to do well on MCAT which will determine where I will apply.

For what I heard from other people, some medical schools prefer students with work experience.

Apply to as many DO schools as possible and be willing relocate.

• thomasfx10 Said:
I think it is not as big of an issue with the DO schools. With your GPA and MCAT score that is where you should apply. You will not get in to any of the US MD schools with those stats. If you had a 3.7+ and a 35+ MCAT I do not think there would be an issue.

To the contrary, a 3.7+ and 35+ is not a guarantee of MD admission as neither is a 3.5, 25 a preclusion of MD admission. The holistic application is what matters.