What are my chances of getting in?

I am submitting my applications this week to about 20 schools across the spectrum. It’s late, yes I know. But I wanted to see what people thought my chances of getting in are.

I graduated with a BS in BioChem from UC Riverside in 1999, gpa about 3.0 with poor science scores. Got a JD from U of San Diegoin 2002, graduating cum laude (18th out of 300) with lots of awards. Worked a some top law firms for the last 7 years.

MCAT Aug 2009: got a 38Q (14 Bio, 13Phys, 11 VR)

MCAT Apr 1998: 36R (11 Bio, 14 Phys, 11 VR)

did the whole volunteering in undergrad, worked in bio lab etc.

No recent coursework.

What do you think my chances are?

PS, taking classes now at Cal State Fullerton to use on applications next year, in case I fail this year.

So-so.

Good mcat but GPA is average. Classwork and lab experience is from a long time ago. On the cusp of expiring actually. A solid essay/rec’s could serve to address some of these deficiencies.

A round of post-bacc classes with great scores would substantially increase your chances (at least at better schools).

Depends on school applied to of course. UCSD has I believe a ~3.6GPA/33Q average.

I suspect you already know most of this but there it is.

Because you have not been in a science class for the last 10 years, you may be at a disadvantage. You certainly have the MCAT score but there is more to getting into medical school than just an MCAT score.

You may have to take some upper level science coursework in order to show that you can still do that upper level science work.

I agree with Gabe that if you do not get in, having some upper level science classes to show that you can handle the work will be the piece you need to round out your application. However, my guess is that if you spread your net wide enough with those 20 schools, you will get in this year. Good luck and keep us posted!!

Thanks for your comments.

What does So-so mean? 50%? 75%? 25%? 10%? 1%?