what are my chances?

I am writing with a typical request for advice on retaking the mcat. I scored a 26Q with 10-biology, 9-physics, 7-verbal. I know my verbal is low and I am questioning retaking the test because of that. But because I studied just about as hard as I could have I’m not sure just how much my score would improve…or maybe even drop. Plus my science scores aren’t too bad. My overall gpa is a 3.8 and my science gpa is about the same.

I have the typical shadowing, some volunteer work in hospitals, and also been a major part of an anti-tobacco campaign in the u.s. I think my biggest extracurricular is that I play soccer at a large division 1 university. Are my extracurriculars and gpa enough to possibly compensate for my mcat score? do schools look at being an athlete and will that help me in any way as well? Or should I just bite the bullet and retake the test?? although thats about the last thing i want to do…thanks so much!!

I would go ahead and apply to a wide range of schools, indicate on your AMCAS that you are retaking, and retake the MCAT.

• near0015 Said:
I am writing with a typical request for advice on retaking the mcat. I scored a 26Q with 10-biology, 9-physics, 7-verbal.

Near0015,

My MCAT is only 1 point higher than yours and my WS is lower. I got 27N: PS 11, BS 9 and VR 7.