What are the Medical school Application Steps for a Non Traditional Student

My Name is Eneey. I work presently as a computer programer / developer. I have my bachelors degree in Electrical / Electronic Engineering, and this was attained about 8 years ago from an English speaking African country.

I want to switch to Medicine, and i want to know the steps involed to achieve this. This includes the prerequisites needed and the whole process.

Also, can i get the prerequisites from a community college, and how long it will take?

I reside in the NY area, if this will help. Any suggestions, comments (negative or positive) will be greatly appreciated.

I need any/all information that will steer me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to OPM! I think the first question is whether you are a US citizen. If you are, then the answers to your questions are definitely on this site. If not, there are probably other considerations that I don’t know anything about… probably other people on here will, though.

For US medical schools (the only ones I know anything about), you need to take the medical school prerequisites, usually defined as:

1 year Bio

1 year Gen Chem

1 year Organic

1 year Physics

all with labs. Some med schools have math requirements, some have English requirements - presumably you would have met some or all of these with your earlier coursework. I would recommend getting an MSAR - Medical School Admissions Requirements - book from the AAMC. It spells out the requirements for each school, so you know what you are up against. It only covers MD schools, though, not DO schools.

Whether you take them at a Community College is up to you. I have heard many times that it is better to take them at a 4-year university. However, there are people who have gotten in with CC credits. This is a longstanding debate.

You’ll need to study for and take the MCAT, and do well on it.