What Are the Physical Demands of Med School?

Could anyone help me understand what the days (and nights) will be like when doing rotations and residencies in terms of physical demands? I was at a holiday celebration and one well meaning aunt expressed her concerns because I have a few aches and pains (under control and being treated with Bextra) that because I am not spry and 22 that I will really have a hard time keeping up with the requirements. (she is a nurse)…any thoughts?
Thanks
E Lynne

During 3rd and 4th year rotations you are expected to keep up with the schedule that residents have. This is approximately 80hr/week but not all rotations will be this time intensive. Residency will be physically demanding but nothing that you cannot handle.

Hi there,
I started medical school at age 46 and graduated at age 49 (turned 50 two weeks after graduation). I am now a PGY-3 General Surgery resident. I did internship under the old system where you could be in the hospital unlimited hours. General Surgery is mentally and physically one of the most demanding specialties and I get it done at age 52.
It isn’t a matter of age but a matter of attitude. If you desire and interests lie in medicine, you will be fine. Sure the hours are long but the work is totally absorbing. One minute doing something that you do not enjoy is far worse than 10 hours of something that you do enjoy.
Keys to keeping the edge for this kind of work: 1. Have a good means of stress relief that does not involve any chemicals other than endorphans. 2. Have a life outside of medicine that you enjoy. Work hard and play hard with your family. 3. Realize that you can’t learn it all but that you will learn enough and do enough to become a fine physician if you do your best. 4. Laugh at yourself from time to time. 5. Have good mentors and learn from them (the subject of my latest Diary entry). (shameless plug).