What is really true?

Hello everyone. I’m new to this wonderful site and this is my first time posting. I am just wondering if any of you could clear something up for me. I have heard from some non-traditional students (who are now physicians) that it is better to choose (better looked upon by med schools) an undergrad major that you are more likely to earn a high GPA in, such as English, rather than to major in, say, Biology and earn a slightly lower GPA. I am aware, of course, that the requisite science and math courses for the medical schools I am looking into would have to be added on to my course work. But for me, a 29 year old former nursing student who has procrastinated through 87 credits and does not have a great GPA at the moment, I’m wondering how true that is. I know that, in my case, I would earn high marks as an English major. Plus, though I hate to say it, I would have something to fall back on just in case this ended up not working out–it’s only wise to have a back-up!

I’m not looking for an easy way out but I am trying to find out my best course of action before I jump into a whole new undergrad (most of my science courses have already lapsed from my nursing major, which I never finished, anyway). If any of you have any advice, it is appreciated! Have a wonderful day.

Hi Alicia -

Welcome. It is true that it generally doesn’t matter to the medical schools what major you choose. You should major in what you love and do well. A backup plan is also an excellent idea.

However, you seem to have some damage control to do. In your case, a non-science major might not be the best option. In addition to taking or retaking the pre-reqs, you probably will need to take some additional upper level science courses (especially if you have previous poor science grades) in order to show med schools that you can handle them.