What is the correct plan of action?

I am 28 years old, I am married with two children, and it is necessary for me to continue working. That being said, I would like to know, based on knowledge and experience, how I should proceed to prepare for medical school.

I am in the last two semesters of my B.S. in Criminal Justice. I was a Police Officer for 5 years. While training a recruit, we discussed life and what we wanted out of it. I realized at that time that I felt called to do something more with my life. I have always felt a calling to serve people. I decided that I was not serving them in the way I want to. After substantial research and careful consideration, I decided to pursue a career in medicine.

I have a decent G.P.A. of 3.4. My issue is that I have no science credits and I have not taken a science class since high school. I have been told that a medical school will not entertain the idea of accepting me without a science based undergrad degree. I am aware of the perquisites for the schools I will apply to and I have been inquiring on where to take them.

Due to the fact that I must work, I am considering going to EMT school in order to get into the medical field and make some money. I read a few posts on here about “rushing an application” and that is something I do not want to do.

Basically, I am looking for advice and guidance on how to prepare and proceed with my educational and career goals.

Thank you to all who respond.

Chris

Who ever told you that a med school will not “entertain the idea” of accepting you based on a non-science degree was dead wrong. Lately, some med schools even prefer that you don’t have a science focused degree as it shows you are a well rounded candidate. To short answer your question, you are just as strong a candidate as everyone else. You just need to do well on pre-reqs and mcat among other things. I’m a business major and still going for the M.D.!

• cgng0725 Said: