What should I do next?

A few years ago I graduated with a 2.4 GPA from a reputable state school. I moved to the west coast and participated in biomedical research for 2 years (3 publications, 1 first author). Then, following some good advice that I recieved on this board I pursued a post-bac which I am currently in the middle of as I type this. All is going great, but I am in desperate need to know if my post-bac will be enough to overcome my shady past. I have re-taken most of the pre-med requirements that I did poorly in and recieved A’s in all of them. I have taken a bunch of upper division science classes and recieved nothing but straight A’s. By the time I take the MCAT in August I will have completed 33 credits of post-bac work. My post-bac GPA now is a 3.9 and should remain that high by the time I apply to medical school.
So, my question is will 33 credits of post-bac, 2 years of research, great LORs, and ample volunteer work be enough to overcome my troubled past? I was planning on applying summer of 2004 to allopathic schools, although I think osteopathic schools are great I would like to pursue a competitive field so I really want to go allopathic if I can. I was debating taking and additional 12 credits of post-bac in the evening while I work full time next year so that I could apply with a total of 45 post-bac credits, but then I would have to postpone applying until summer of 2005 or I could apply this summer, keep taking courses and work full-time, but I might end up sending myself off a bridge. Does anyone have any idea if 33 post-bac credits of 4.0 will be enough to overcome the low ugpa?
Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!!!
Chris