What the heck am I doing?

I started back at school this fall with pre-med coursework. I’m currently an online teacher, and I know this will be my last teaching gig. Although I really hate my job, I’m really thankful for the job that I have in these tight times, and even more thankful for the fact that it’s flexible enough for me to work and go to school at the same time.

I have a question, though. About 99.5% of the time, I’m sold on med school and being a doctor. I lose sleep at night thinking about it, I’m so excited. My husband is supportive beyond all reason, and so is the rest of my family. I’ve got three kids (all very young) who won’t even be in high school by the time I’m done.

There are days, though, when I question if this is the “right” choice. Yesterday, my husband took work off just to be with us so I could work (from home) while he played with the kids. I’m a quality time person… days like that when I get to be with my family really re-fuel me. But it left me with this little feeling that I’d be giving it all up.

I have days when I wondering what the heck I’m doing. Life, currently, is just fine. I’ve got three wonderful kids and a job that pays the bills. We live in a nice house and are very comfortable. Yesterday was one of those days when I looked at my direction (which I’ve been sold on since elementary school), and I questioned what I’m doing.

To those of you who are on your way (already taking pre-med courses, in med school, residency, or graduated), did you ever have the same feeling/thought? How did you deal with it? Did it ever go away or lessen? I get this feeling about three days out of the whole year, so it’s not like it’s something I feel frequently.

Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Kwicklea

Thinking about getting into Med School and worrying about family time… I have read something on this forum: “You can have anything, but you can’t have everything”.