What to do during application year?

Hi Everyone!

I am, as you could guess, a non-traditional student. I went back to school last fall to finish pre-reqs and will have completed them by next spring. I plan to take the MCAT next April and apply that summer (2017). I am currently doing a “do-it-yourself” post-bacc program and am looking for some advice on what to do during the year between applying and (hopefully) matriculation. I have a degree already, but have thought about taking the year to finish a certificate of degree in applied mathematics, purely because I enjoy it. However, this would not be the most financially beneficial option. I am also open to working but not really sure which direction to go. I have been a bartender for a few years and that would definitely be the most financially beneficial, but will add nothing to my application. Maybe getting certified to be a CNA would be better? I am completely open to suggestions. What would you do??

THANKS! Rock-on old pre meds!

Do whatever you actually WANT to do versus what you think you need/have to do. It’ll be the last time you have that much time to do what you want until you’re done with residency and beyond, don’t squander it away on stuff that probably won’t really help you in the grand scheme of things as it relates to med school. Being a CNA might get you in the environment, but you won’t really be doing medicine, per se, and the skills you learn will only loosely apply to those you need as a physician. You will probably gain an appreciation for the care-team concept and understand what different jobs do for patient care. If it’s something you think you’ll enjoy for the experience, though, by all means do it.