What would you do? Continue?

I am hestitant to write this because my mind seems to change weekly, but I am starting to feel that I am on the wrong path.

There are many reasons but the principle reason I chose to start this premed/med path is because I felt what I really wanted to do was completely impractical. Now I am beginning to think I should go to my original “dream” path, despite the impracticality, and have faith that things will work out how they are meant to.

I really want to go back for my masters and PhD in bioengineering. I’d like to be a professor. Even if I found a job, I think there would be a really good chance I’d have to move to another state when I graduated, and I’d make less than I do now. Regardless, I feel that I am “supposed” to be a professor, not a doctor. I know lots of people are cluttering up the PhD world who weren’t supposed to be there, and that’s frustrating because it makes the jobs so hard to get. I am really drawn to working with students and also the research side. I am less excited about academic politics, but I also know that most academics haven’t worked in the corporate world. . .it’s not all roses either.

Anyway, I really feel torn between both options (med school/BioE) right now, and I wish I could do both. I’ve considered delaying med school by a year and going back for just the Master’s, kind of as a test. It might even have advantages of providing some more medically-oriented experience if I did decide to apply to med school after. On the other hand, this is just crazy that I am 30 (dang, almost 31), and cannot decide what to do. I think I know where I should be but I just have too much fear to commit to that path.

I just completed Biology I, and I enjoyed it and got an A. I have also started volunteering and it’s fun, so it’s not so much that I am struggling academically. It really is just that I feel my calling is elsewhere. (But I think it’s lame to say I even have a calling, I was raised to be less spiritual.)