What's your opinion?

Hi all; I have a little ad hoc survey for my fellow OPMs, med students and alums.

I recently joined the faculty at the medical school where I graduated. Next fall I will be expected to lead a group of first-year students in a course titled Essentials of Clinical Medicine. The course is designed to help students integrate into the profession of medicine. Each group is comprised of 8-10 students and one faculty advisor, and assignment to the groups is completely random. It is a required course, and with a few minor updates appears to be about the same as when I took it 9 years ago. Although the majority of the weekly sessions were helpful, like learning to take an accurate medical history, some were clearly geared toward younger students who never had an opportunity to develop professionalism in other careers. For these sessions, I pretty much showed up to punch my dance card and kept my mouth shut, but found it frustrating and a waste of time nonetheless. As I got to know other OPMs in my class, this seemed to be a universal feeling among us.

Now that I have the opportunity to maybe affect change in this area of the curriculum, I’d like to get your input. Do you/did you have a similar small-group course in your program? If so, would you have preferred to be in a group made up of other non-trads, and have some of the sessions devoted to topics that are unique to us? Or do you think that it’s better to NOT be singled out to participate in a different group based on your age and previous experience? If you had the option to choose, which group would you prefer? If you could be in a group made up of non-trads, what topics would you like to have addressed? Any other comments or suggestions are welcome too. Thanks in advance for your responses!

Hi jmdmd,