When to start studying for MCAT???

Hi all-

I am new around here. I’m a 44 year old female who has recently decided to finally do it! By “it” of course I mean apply to med school. I have been a family nurse practitioner (aka advanced practice rn), since 1995 (with a few years off to raise my family). I have always dreamed of going to med school, but like many of you, didn’t have the proper guidance years ago. I am currently taking pre-calc to brush up on my math which I know will be required for physics. I am also going to need to repeat Bio, Gen Chem and Organic (my grades are too old). My question is…between work and family, I barely have time to study for pre-calc. What is the best study strategy for the MCAT since I will probably be taking it right after Org I and Physics I?

I took the MCAT as I was finishing the second semester of o-chem and physics… since I had lots of family obligations, I did NOT attempt to work during the two-semester stretch that included both semesters of o-chem and physics, an additional bio class, and MCAT prep. I know people who’ve done it, but I certainly felt like I devoted all my available time to studying for one thing or another. I’m not implying that you can’t work and do school at the same time, 'cause lots of people do. I just want to caution that what worked for me may not be adequate for someone who’s being pulled in even more directions.