where did the time go?

I’m currently an undergraduate student. I still haven’t declared a major but i’m listed as undeclared-biological sciences. In less than two weeks I will have finished my first year of college and the first thought that comes to my mind is “oh no”. I had a load of problems adjusting to the college life and sadly, my grades are a direct reflection of that. Lately i’ve been having those ‘thinking too far ahead into the future’ type panic attacks and the thought that keeps running through my mind is where i’ll end up in life. Ideally I’d like to go to medical school and become a pediatrician or maybe a dermatologist but the whole low GPA deal is ruining the dream. Now, that finals are rolling around I’m scared that i’ll either fail or get a D in a Statistics course i’m taking, and on top of that my cumulative GPA is already under 3.0.

Sorry for the drawn out story but in short…i’m in need of some insight from those of you who have gone through this daunting process. What should I do? Am I a hopeless cause or is there some shimmering bit of hope left for me?

Youngandcofused!

First of all - do not panic! Do whatever you can to finish this semester with the best result possible, and then try to figure out what went wrong and why!

It’s only your first year! With three more years ahead of you, you might actually finish with a good GPA!

Kasia

I’ve got to echo Kasia - don’t panic!

You’ve already identified the source of your anxiety, and you’re learning that you don’t like how it feels to be in this situation. Do what you can to do your best with what’s left to you this semester - and understand that it’s not the end of the world. Hell, it’s not even the end of your college career ;).

It’s true that medical schools understand that many people have a hard time adjusting to college life, and they consider the first year to be a reflection of that.