Where do I begin??? (a little long)

Hi everyone! I have been reading through several of the forums and I have found really great information. To start, I am 31 y.o, married, no children, prior Army Captain, and currently working as an Operations Manager for the #1 electronics retailer in the country. Sadly enough, while I am in a wonderful position with an amazing company, making an excellent salary, my one true desire has always been to go to medical school. I received my Bachelor’s (Biology) degree 7 years ago and I have a Masters in Human Resource Management. I recently completed a CNA course so that I could work part time or volunteer in either a hospice setting or hospital setting to gain clinical experience and develop a local network. I feel that there are so many things that I have to do in order to apply to medical school but I don’t know where to begin. I completed all of the pre-reqs during my undergrad years but mostly with B’s and C’s and some A’s here and there. What advice do you have as far as retaking pre-reqs, the amount of clinical experience necessary, the best courses to take, shadowing, etc etc etc!!! I apologize for being so long winded but I do appreciate any advice you can offer!

Pereschuk,

Welcome to OPM.

Getting ready to apply might take you a couple of years, so I think you’ll have enough time to get some exposure to the clinicial side of medicine. Even if you volunteer once a week for few hours you will ‘accumulate’ a good number of hours. I personally enjoyed volunteering for a hospice much more than in a hosptial. But if you’ve never worked in a hospital, you might want to do some of it too.

As far as education goes…Cs are not good! Lots of Bs aren’t either. With increasing competition you want to get mostly As, few Bs and no Cs if possible + do well on the MCAT.