Where do I begin? Advice needed!

I’m finally ready to apply to medical school, and I have no idea where to begin. Full background, as briefly as possible: I floundered in college while working full-time, so I took the opportunity I had to work as a surgical tech at 22. I saved up some funds, and went back to college five years later with aspirations of becoming a doctor. I took most of my pre-reqs at a community college where I got a full ride for a nearly 4.0 GPA. Upon graduation, I was accepted for transfer to Columbia and Cornell, but chose a state school that offered me a full ride. I graduated with a 3.55 in Pharmacology (same requirements as a biochemistry major, with an additional 12 credits in Pharmacology and lab). I would have been closer to a 3.9, but I had one bumpy semester junior year when my father was hospitalized and most of my grades were in the A/B range, with a D in physics as the huge black eye. I made that up senior year, but only ended up with a B+.

In those four years, I participated in academic research that culminated in a few publications, and almost a dozen presentations, including three at national conventions. I volunteered in a hospital blood bank and as a peer adviser. Prior to that, I spent several weeks volunteering in South America.

When I graduated, I was too overwhelmed with everything in my life to even consider applying to medical school. I paid to delay sitting for the MCAT, then took a job as a surgical tech again, and decided not to take the exam. Things got better, and I married my best friend, but it no longer seemed practical to pursue my dream.

We recently had our first child, and now that I’m returning to work, I’ve decided that this is the best time to pursue medical school. My husband is supportive and willing to work around my school schedule and be the primary caregiver to our baby. And the sooner I do it, the better our return on investment in education.