Where do I get experience?

Where do I go to get the experience/volunteer work, etc that medical schools like to see? I have no idea where to start…do I just start calling hospitals?
One that I called basically said there was no shadowing and it was mainly customer service type of volunteer work (answering phones, bringing water to patients, cleaning, etc).
I am in Oklahoma City if anyone has any ideas. I have no health care experience.
Marilyn

Hi and welcome to OPM,
I would suggest you find out if there are any free health clinics. That is where I volunteered for 3 years and gained a truck load of experience. By the time I left I was checking in patients, drawing blood, giving shots, counseling woman who just found out they were pregnant, etc. It was such a rewarding experience.
I would call any local med schools near you and ask the dean of admissions if they could recommend somewhere you could gain the experience you are looking for. That is how I found the free clinic where I went. You can also look in the phone book.
As to hospital volunteering, you could start doing the boring stuff and then once you have been there for a few months and have met people there, you could have a better chance to ask for a transfer to surgery or ER or whereever. But You really have to get your foot in the door and make some contacts first.
Good luck

Marilyn-