Where do I start?

Hi everyone!

I am 30, and recently decided that I want to attend med school, I graduated hs and only have a few cc courses under my belt. It seems that starting this journey at cc is my only option. My question to you guys is; how do I get started?

Is it possible to get accepted to med school starting out at a comunity college, and transfering to a university ?

Thank you all for your time!!

Welcome!

CC courses are generally viewed differently at every medical school.

You CAN do it, and if it you only option, then it is the best option for you.

You need to start by figuring out what courses you need to take, and start taking them. See if there is an advisor at your CC that can help you start the process.

Be prepared that the advisor MAY not be as positive about your dream as you might expect. The one I spoke to, when I was 28, told me that I was too old and perhaps I shoudl look into different fields because “medical schools don’t accept married people over 30…”. She was very, very, very, condescending. Even my wife who is not prickly at all was appalled at the counselor’s counsel.

You most definitely can get accepted to med school coming from a CC and transferring to a 4 year. There are people who get accepted having taken the prereqs at a CC. So don’t let anyone discourage you.

It IS possible to start at a cc and then transfer to a university; more med schools are becoming open to that idea since they understand students’ financial and other constraints. This year the Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR) started listing whether each school accepts community college courses in fulfillment of the premed requirements. Check there to get an idea as to how many schools accept cc credits.

Good luck on your journey!

Cheers,

Liza

Hi Lizat

this is excellent news. I did all of my pre-reqs at CC and frankly it was quite stressing. But this was my only option.