why do it? and expiry

Greetings. I’m new, and my background is included in my signature. I have two questions:

(1) Does it make sense to pursue a medical degree at an advanced age if there are other things one wants to do in life besides practice medicine? For me, medicine would primarily represent a chance to have an intellectually challenging degree and job. However, I have two non-fiction books I would like to research before I die, and several hobbies. (Medical knowledge would dovetail with these other pursuits but delay their actual realization.) A secondary consideration is friendship and romance. The hospital staff I work with and other RN students have completely different priorities and interests. I am starting to despair of making connections with people if I don’t change my peer group.

(2) Is there a general consensus on the age at which the chances of admission start diminishing drastically regardless of strength of application? I have browsed a few posts such as Richard’s Rules for NON-TRAD success below, and went to med school at 39 in the general discussion section, but most people here seem younger.

Thanks so much!!

there’s no cut-off officially or unofficially. These days, they are pretty open minded when it comes to mature candidates, who have proven to be excellent physicians. A lot fewer people in their 30s and older apply to medical schools so it’s hard to say how much discrimination there is (undoubtedly there’s some, though).