Will this look bad?

So I’ve been an EMT for a little over a year. I’m looking at getting a non-medical job, however, due to the horrible pay that EMTs get and a lot of differences I have with the management at the ambulance company I work for (in a nutshell, gross incompetence which I don’t like). Will this look bad when it comes time to applying to med schools since I’ll be in a completely non-medically related job despite having been in one for at least 1 year?

I would imagine the pay of an EMT alone, even without the disagreements with management, would be sufficient explanation but I know how ridiculous and illogical the application process is which is why I ask. I may continue to be an EMT part-time, but due to the fact that I have no idea how many hours the companies I’m interviewing at would want me to work for part-time, I’m not sure I’ll continue to do EMT work at this point.

You have some medical experience, so IMO you should do what you need to do. If you can make time, you might look for shadowing opportunities even if it only produces a limited number of hours. You didn’t mention looking for a full time EMT position with a different company, but I don’t know your situation or what the landscape in your area looks like.

I have thirteen years’ experience as a paramedic and a degree in Emergency Management. This one thing I can tell you…There are no standards for EMS management in this country, so incompetence rules.

As far as ad coms go, some have a grasp of EMS and others still think it’s a non-medical job. I actually had a family practice doc this summer suggest that I look for something more “medically related”. The best you can hope for is an opportunity to explain how your EMS experience has influenced your interest in professional medicine.

Tim,