worried about the age of pre-req courses

I’m a medical laboratory scientist. I’ve been in this field for about 4 years now. I am planning to apply to med schools in 2 years. I’m worried about the age of my pre-reqs. my freshman bio is 10 years old now. and the rest will be 10 years old by 2012. Will that be a problem when I apply? I am currently studying for my MCAT which i will take next year. Does anyone know if I am required to retake courses? Thanks!!!

I am not sure about this, but I would contact and adviser at the school you are hoping to get into and check their requirements. GL

Based on my own experiences, it will be a problem at some schools, but not at all schools. The problem isn’t always the age of your coursework per se, but rather the general perception that being away from full-time academics for X number of years tends to dull your study habits. This is a complete falacy in my opinion, but I don’t make the rules. Contact the admissions offices at schools you’re interested in and ask them what their policy is. This is what I did before I applied to medical school and I highly recommend this especially if it’s been >5 years since you were last a student. Every school is different and you don’t want to waste time and money applying to schools that won’t consider your application based solely on the age of your coursework.

Irregardless of what the schools say, you should probably take some biology courses (as the field has changed considerably in that amount of time) and strongly consider taking some upper level science coursework to show adcoms that you can hack it. The general vibe I tend to get is that if you have strong MCAT scores, older pre-reqs tend not to be an issue.