writing your own recommendation

Hello,

I asked for a recommendation from where I was interning this summer and the director said to write a recommendation and then she would sign it. I have never written a recommendation before, any ideas what I should write about?

I don’t think I would do that. Maybe others here will have different feelings about it, but it seems fradulent to me. If she is recommending you, it really should be her words, and you shouldn’t really even see it.

This has been kicked around before although I don’t recall any recent discussions about it. While I can respect that someone is very busy and therefore would like you to “help,” I’ve always felt that the ones who are your “referees” should think highly enough of you to put the work into a good LOR themselves. However, I am pretty sure there are folks on OPM who felt that they DID have a good, close relationship with a referee and yet were expected to provide, if not the finished letter, the “bones” of the LOR.

I think many people who are asked to write an LOR just don’t know what they are supposed to say in it. Or feel that perhaps they don’t know you well enough except in the one capacity (in this case, recent intern work) and think that the letter is supposed to be a summation of your life work to date. I don’t know.

When I was requesting LORs from my professors, I gave them each a copy of my (draft) personal statement so that they would know more about me than my class performance. (I did waive my right to see these letters so I have no idea what they actually said.)