Yep...another newbie.

Hi gang! I’m delighted and relieved to find this group. I have devoted hours to digesting your posts and have learned much in the process. Massive kudo’s to all who make this possible.
A little background (summarized) – I am a 34y/o male Police Officer. Last year I completed an EMT certification course to add to my skills and credentials and during my hospital clinical rotations, I discovered why I’ve felt like an octagonal peg in a round hole for the past 7 yrs……I’m in the wrong profession. After dealing with each patient in the emergency room, I found that I always gravitated back to the Radiology Imaging stations to talk with the techs and Docs and look at the various images. Law Enforcement always felt like a career that I was forcing upon myself…something that wasn’t meant to be even though IMHO I do it very well, and with the right sense of priorities (I’m no Barney Fife nor Robocop). I discussed the recent revelation with my Fiancé and we explored the possible avenues to act on my true desires (occupationally speaking). We started by accessing what fields interest me, what I have a true aptitude to perform, what fields have better than adequate demand and growth potential, and what fields I can train for and complete with enough time to retire by age 70. After a lengthy process of elimination, my new career objective is Radiologist, MD. Narrowing to Med-school hit me like an epiphany! I know it sounds corney, but the MOMENT that I settled on the idea, an almost Zen-like calm came over me and I know I was on the right track (yeah…I know…I sound like a freak)